Excess is good.

September 24, 2011 § Leave a comment

The path of excess leads to the tower of wisdom.” – William Blake

I wonder what he was thinking when he wrote this?  It’s one of my favorite quotes from the movie, “Bull Durham” but now that I contemplate the beauty of ONE and LESS I kind of scratch my head.

Perhaps he meant that only after you have glutted yourself (eaten too much, bought too much, incurred too much debt, lived in a too-large house) can you move beyond consumption?  Thankfully my glutting is done (almost).  I have lived in a big house, I have weighed my life down with debt, I have eaten far more than my share and I have bought things that ended up in the donation pile unworn and unused.

And while I think living with an attitude of gratitude is a greater requirement to moving beyond consumption than gluttony, having an excess of tangible stuff has helped to remind me to be grateful.  I have loved all of my stuff … some in the coming, all in the going!

image from http://veesimagination.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Excess is good. at I SHOULD be a minimalist..

meta

