In defense of censorship

September 28, 2011 § Leave a comment

Just in case my aspirations at semi-minimalism may have led you to believe that I am a Liberal, let me correct you … when it comes to standards for myself, I am ultra conservative.  I avoid commercial television like the plague.  I avert my eyes from all of the popular magazines in the grocery check-out lines.  I haven’t watched broadcast news in 16 years (with the exception of 9/11).  Yep, I’m a censor.  For myself.

There are down-sides to my personal censorship.  I am hopelessly out-of-the-loop when it comes to pop culture.  I have excluded myself from these sources for so long now that I don’t know who most of the people gracing the covers of the checkout-line magazines are.  When conversations in social settings turn to TV shows, they might as well be talking football, because it’s all Greek to me.

I like to think of self-censorship as a form of minimalism — leaving space in my mind for things that I love instead of unnecessary stuff.  So I will pass on the latest Dancing With Survivors and instead watch something I love.  Like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, commercial-free from Netflix.  (I’m not telling you what to watch.)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In defense of censorship at I SHOULD be a minimalist..

meta

