My own “stop shopping” project

October 25, 2011 § 2 Comments

I’ve been reading the minimalistwoman.com’s e-book, The Minimalist Woman’s Guide to Having it All and have begun today with the first step toward becoming a mindful consumer by stopping recreational shopping.  I’ve been working on mindful consumerism for a while including buying more organic, locally produced and American-made products and taking month-long hiatuses from shopping in big-box stores.  In the end though, there is still an incoming stream of stuff, my house is more cluttered than I like and my savings account isn’t growing as fast as I would like.  (I am debt-free except my mortgage and I don’t incur new debt.  I just spend more than I want to and I acquire things that I don’t love — often impulsively — because there are just more places popping up where you can buy organic, locally produced, American-made stuff!)

On the surface, eliminating “recreational shopping” should be a piece of cake for me.  I’ve even created rules for myself to make it easy ala Zen Habits such as an exemption for shopping for my family, (it’s not recreational if I go in, get what I came for and leave).  BUT, (you knew there was a but), I don’t know what to do for fun.  I grew up shopping as a hobby.  I’m addicted to how shopping shows me the possibilities.  I’ve mastered shopping as a “creative excursion.”  I’m good at it.  I can buy more in a single trip than anyone I know and I can always get the best DEALS!

Challenge: What do I enjoy doing?

§ 2 Responses to My own “stop shopping” project

  • I just started reading this book too! Looking forward to hearing more about your stop shopping project. I’ve been trying, and while I’m not exactly succeeding, I am at least thinking more about what I buy, and I’m trying to buy more American products.

    Looking forward to more inspirational stories from you!

    • Thanks for the comment! I’ve been failing miserably myself, but it’s made me painfully aware of how much I rely on shopping and how much I’ve taught my children to do the same. Good luck to you and please let me know how you do!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My own “stop shopping” project at I SHOULD be a minimalist..

meta

