So now what do I do?

November 27, 2011 § 3 Comments

 

I did not participate in Black Friday this year.  Oldest DD and I did go out shopping on Friday morning to buy some yarn for her Christmas gifts (she’s crocheting little purses for her cousins and some fabulous shawls for her grandmothers — and me, I hope).  We also went to the little second-hand shoe store and got some boots to replace some that were worn out.  We shopped leisurely (more people than usual at the craft store, but far enough away from the mall to avoid serious crowding) and enjoyed a decadent coffee while we were out.  We were home in time for lunch and went to work balling yarn (me and youngest DD) and crocheting (her).  I count all of these things as SUCCESS for me in the pursuit of semi-minimalism.

We ended up spending the rest of the day lounging on the couch with these projects while watching several episodes of “Bones” … our new favorite TV show.  (Prior to getting our AppleTV, we hadn’t watched TV shows in about ten years, so we have an almost unlimited source of commercial-free television shows we can watch.)  The day was enjoyable, and yet …

I feel like a slug for just sitting around.  I’m used to the busy-ness of all those “errands” I used to run and feeling the sense of accomplishment from finding just the right thing(s) or getting a great deal.  My feet would hurt from all of that walking around and I would be tired from a hard day “out there.”

So now what do I do with my time that will make me feel like I’ve accomplished something?

§ 3 Responses to So now what do I do?

  • lol you must be a mind reader! I’ve been having this thought for the last month. My husband keeps trying to tell me that I don’t have to be productive every moment and it’s okay to not have accomplished anything in a day.

    But you did accomplish something, didn’t you? I bet you were a lot more relaxed after that day than you would’ve been if you were cleaning or digging out. What a great thing to accomplish! I’ll get there eventually…

  • Good husband to remind you of that — I think mine tries to tell me the same. You think it’s a woman thing? Have you ever read that e-mail joke that goes something like “man says goodnight and goes to bed, turns out light and goes to sleep; woman says goodnight and loads the dishwasher, feeds the pets, lays out clothes for the next day, washes face/teeth, gets into bed, writes in her journal, reads from her book, turns out the light and goes to sleep”? That’s how it is in my house. LOL

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading So now what do I do? at I SHOULD be a minimalist..

meta

