Career Satisfaction

July 25, 2016 § Leave a comment

best-books-for-entrepreneurs

One of the things I’ve never really been able to embrace is the minimalism movement’s push toward quitting your work for “the man” and following your bliss.  I mean, I WANT to follow my bliss, but I still don’t know what that is.  So in the meantime, I’ve crafted a career and working environment that allows me to have what I consider the best of both worlds … steady paychecks with benefits combined with flexibility and the ability to contribute in a way that is very personal to me.

To get there, though, I had to question myself a LOT and recently a friend asked me for some of the resources I used, so I’m sharing them here:

Strengthsfinder 2.0, Tom Rath: Don’t buy used – there’s a code to take their strengthsfinder test and when the book is used, the code isn’t good.  I bought the Kindle version.  This one uses their test plus your Meyers-Briggs to help you understand your ideal working environment.  Once I realized my current working environment got me 7 out of 10 on my ideal list, I felt much better about loving my day job.

Quitter: Closing the Gap Between Your Day Job and Your Dream Job, Jon Acuff: I listened to this one – Jon Acuff wrote the blog “Stuff Christians Like” and has a great sense of humor – he reads the audio version himself.

48 Days to the Work You Love: Preparing for the New Normal, Dan Miller: I also listened to this one.  This is the first time I started to understand my calling and how I can select jobs that align with my calling.

Born for This: How to Find the Work You Were Meant To Do, Chris Guillebeau: I love all things Chris Guillebeau and haven’t read this one yet, but went to his book-signing and heard his overview of the contents and main points (and had been reading snippets about the book pre-publication).  I’ve followed his blog The Art of Nonconformity for years and love all of his work – he really helped me start thinking about my work non-traditionally.

Linchpin: Are You Indispensible?, Seth Godin: I have also followed Seth for years and loved his book on tribes as well as this one … Linchpin really helps you identify how to be the “go to” for whatever you love and do.

Outliers: The Story of Success, Malcolm Gladwell: Not necessarily career advice, but really great dissection of some of the people we think are complete geniuses or uber-talents and how they had opportunities that we can create for ourselves (in other words, talent and intelligence are not the only things these people had and how you can achieve similar success by letting go of those limiting beliefs).

How about you?  What books would you recommend for growing a career (or even just a job) that is as satisfying as possible?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Career Satisfaction at I SHOULD be a minimalist..

meta

